A quick search of the library catalog will give you thousands of results. Here are some of our favorites.
If you're having any trouble accessing the resources on this page, please sign into MyWit and try again.
Telehealth for Our Ageing Society by
The population of the world is ageing, and the prospect of increasing care costs is generating new ideas and approaches to healthcare for the elderly. This growing burden of care, coupled with the rapid increase of digital literacy and an appetite for the use of digital resources among older citizens, has also encouraged a diversification of remote healthcare options, and has prompted the care sector to diversify its offer and investigate strategic alignments in research and development.This book presents a selection of papers from the 5th Global Telehealth conference, held in Adelaide, Australia, in November 2017. In recognition of the diversity of this area of healthcare, this series of international meetings, which began in 2010, has focused on different topics in telehealth. The main aim of the 2017 meeting was to share knowledge of complementary research endeavors in telehealth as related to later-life care, and to foster interaction between the different groups undertaking research in this emerging topic area.The 11 papers included here cover a diverse variety of topics, including: telehealth in the elderly with chronic heart failure; wearable information technology and self-management; telerehabilitation exercise in residential care; the Smarter Safer Homes platform; and prediction of freezing of gait in patients with Parkinson's disease.The book will be of interest to all whose work involves the development or delivery of healthcare for older patients.
Lubkin's Chronic Illness Impact and Intervention by
Lubkin's Chronic Illness: Impact and Intervention, Tenth Edition is an essential text for teaching nursing students the impact of chronic Illness on both patients and families. This is the only text of its kinds that truly addresses not only the physical aspects of chronic illness but the important psychosocial issues that individuals and families encounter on a daily basis.The Tenth Edition takes an application to practice-based approach by covering impact and issues as well as interventions and outcomes. Each chapter employs a theoretical approach to the concept followed by an overview of the impact, nursing interventions and potential outcomes. To bring this content to life for students, the text takes a personalized approach featuring real-life stories and scenarios focused on the individual's experience with chronic illness. The journey of the author and her husband through cancer is chronicled throughout a number of chapters. These feelings about the illness experience, and ultimately his death, are real and are excerpted from the author's journal.Key Features:Mapped to all three levels of competencies (BSN, MSN and DNP)The Family Caregiving chapter outlines how family members care for their aging parents and relativesVignettes and journal entries of patients and their caregivers talking about chronic illnessUpdated Evidence-Based Practice BoxesInstructor Resources:Case Studies Discussion QuestionsTest BankPowerPoint SlidesInstructor's Manual
Code of Medical Ethics of the American Medical Association by
Commemorating its 175th anniversary, this new edition of the American Medical Association's (AMA) Code of Medical Ethics (AMA Code) has undergone another comprehensive update. Much has changed in medicine and society since the AMA Code was created 175 years ago, and the AMA Code has changed as well. The Annotations, an important research and reference tool, in the AMA Code has been significantly updated to include more up-to-date and relevant cases, as well as the removal of outdated cases. To celebrate its 175th anniversary, this new edition of the AMA Code also includes artwork and poetry and literary excerpts--all selected to reflect our society and to highlight the importance of diversity and equity--to reflect the AMA's mission to promote the art of medicine and its ethos of putting patients first. The only national code of ethics for all physicians, the AMA Code articulates the core values and ethical responsibilities of physicians who are charged with curing the sick when possible and comforting the dying. Hence, its wide recognition as the most authoritative guide for physicians who strive to practice ethically. This modernized and updated edition of the AMA Code breathes new energy into this living document, while staying true to what it means to be a good physician. The AMA Code is grounded in the nine Principles of Medical Ethics, which are the standards of conduct that define the essentials of ethical behavior for physicians. While the AMA Code provides essential guidance for professional conduct for physicians, it is also regularly cited as the medical profession's authoritative voice in legal opinions, journal articles and media outlets. It is an indispensable resource that deserves to be in every physician office, medical library, hospital, and place where the public's health is promoted. This book includes: Updated and increased number of case annotations, offering synopsis of facts and legal issues. focusing on the court's reference to the AMA Code's Principle(s) or Opinion(s) and the role it played in their decisions. Intuitive topical chapter structure makes finding pertinent ethical guidance easy. A uniform format that improves the readability and application of specific guidance. Consolidation of previously disparate guidance on related topics that streamlines the AMA Code. Use of accepted definitions and consistent terminology that minimize misinterpretation of guidance. * Inclusion of a new preface to clarify the different levels of ethical obligation in the offered guidance.
Stigma and Prejudice by
In this innovative title, the authors describe unique patient populations affected by stigma and prejudice and the prevalence of these issues to all healthcare providers. Each chapter covers the forms of prejudice and stigma associated with minority statuses, including religious minorities, the homeless, as well as those stigmatized by medical serious medical conditions, such HIV/AIDS, obesity, and substance misuse disorders. The chapters focus on the importance of recognizing biological differences and similarities within such groups and describes the challenges and best practices for optimum healthcare outcomes. The text describes innovative ways to connect in a clinical setting with people of diverse backgrounds. The text also covers future directions and areas of research and innovative clinical work being done. Written by experts in the field, Stigma and Prejudice is an excellent resource for psychiatrist, psychologists, general physicians, social workers, and all other medical professionals working with stigmatized populations.
Understanding Uniqueness and Diversity in Child and Adolescent Mental Health by
Understanding Uniqueness and Diversity in Child and Adolescent Mental Health examines the determinates of individual differences in children and young people, along with the origins of maladjustment and psychiatric disorders. It addresses the ways in which interventions and mental health services can be developed and shaped to address individual differences amongst children. Topics cover the influence of economic adversities and gender differences on child development and life course, as well as the range of risk and protective factors associated with the onset and persistence of problems, including sections on anxiety disorders in infants, bipolar disorder, and tics and Tourette's. Additional sections focus on the potential for individualizing treatments as illustrated by pharmacogenomics, with another highlighting ways in which services can be adapted for specific environments, such as the needs of refugee children and systems of service delivery that can be enhanced by the use of telemedicine. Emphasizes the social and environmental influences on child and adolescent mental health Focuses on early developmental and infancy processes Addresses the training of child and adolescent psychiatrists across Europe Covers a range of illustrative psychiatric disorders and problems Forwards a goal of producing a mental health workforce with internationally recognized competencies
Diversity in Medicine by
Diverse backgrounds and experiences of healthcare workers are essential to the progress and impact of clinical medicine. This book presents a collection of action items that will propell aninclusive culture. These action items have been identified based on personal stories and experiences from healthcare workers with a broad array of skills, talents and perspectives. Topics discussed by our authors reflect the increasing complexity of diversity in the field of medicine and related fields in terms of race/ethnicity, economic background, age, gender, sex and sexuality, among many others. Collectively, lessons learned from insights and stories presented in this book will broaden the readers perspective and create a fundamental framework of empathy and understanding. This book is essential reading for everyone who wants to maximize the power of diversity in the field of medicine and medical sciences, including health care professionals, scientists and administrators. Insights shared here will be also useful for students, staff and faculty who are working in other fields of science, technology, engineering, mathematics and medicine (STEM). Readers of this book will develop an increased awareness and understanding of cultures and thought processes that are different than their own and thereby, increase their effectiveness in interpersonal communications and negotiations.The book is composed of 11 chapters which provide detailed insights into different aspectsof diversity in medicine. The book also discusses strengths and needs of trainees from diverse backgrounds, who are new to the academic environment. Each chapter starts with a summary of a specific diversity topic, followed by a list of actionable items that can help to seize specific opportunities and address biases and barriers. These actionable items can help the reader to foster diversity and inclusion in their own community and/or at their own institution. Developing cultural competency of organizational leaders and team members can create a culture of fulfillment, creativity, productivity and prosperity. Recognizing unique skills, talents and insights of team members from diverse backgrounds will help the reader to broaden their perspectives, collaborate effectively and spark medical innovation.
Gender Equity in the Medical Profession by
The presence of women in the practice of medicine extends back to ancient times; however, up until the last few decades, women have comprised only a small percentage of medical students. The gradual acceptance of women in male-dominated specialties has increased, but a commitment to improving gender equity in the medical community within leadership positions and in the academic world is still being discussed. Gender Equity in the Medical Profession delivers essential discourse on strategically handling discrimination within medical school, training programs, and consultancy positions in order to eradicate sexism from the workplace. Featuring research on topics such as gender diversity, leadership roles, and imposter syndrome, this book is ideally designed for health professionals, doctors, nurses, hospital staff, hospital directors, board members, activists, instructors, researchers, academicians, and students seeking coverage on strategies that tackle gender equity in medical education.
PrepStep is a FREE study material available to you. All you need to do is make an account and study!
Once you make an account, you can find a lot of practice tests to study from.
With over 800,000 resources, you're sure to find what you need. For research assistance or to access items you can't find, please make an appointment with Library staff for assistance.
To search a specific database or journal, click here.