A quick search of the library catalog will give you thousands of results. Here are some of our favorites.
If you're having any trouble accessing the resources on this page, please sign into MyWit and try again.
Autistic People in Dental and Medical Clinics by
With 1 in 44 people now being diagnosed as autistic, there is a view that clinical environments should be "autistic friendly". However, despite this expectation, medical and dental students are rarely taught how they can make their future clinical workplaces comfortable for autistic patients. Similarly, allied health professional, such as occupational therapists and psychologists, are also not taught this information. Due to this lack of knowledge, each day countless autistics and their families are exposed to potentially stressful clinical situations that can jeopardise the delivery of effective treatment. To help mitigate this situation, this book will give university students as well as established healthcare professionals an understanding of how they can assist autistic patients in clinical settings. This book is more than just providing strategies that aspiring and established healthcare professionals can use to make their clinical workplaces more accommodating for autistics and their families. It will also present a synopsis of the literature about the challenges and experiences that autistic patients have had in dental and medical settings. Such information can provide the reader with a greater understanding about what it is like to be autistic and receive medical and/or dental treatment. This synopsis will also illustrate the current gaps in our knowledge about this topic.
Medical Emergencies in the Dental Office by
Patients' well-being always comes first; this not only applies to oral health, but also to medical emergencies in the dental office. This new full-color, laminated resource from the American Dental Association trains the dental team to prepare for, identify, and manage health issues that may arise on site, such as a seizure, an allergic reaction, or another instance that requires immediate care. Includes laminated book + DVD with 4 training videos, online access to the videos and ebook, and 3 CE credits. Features: List of recommended equipment and supplies for a dental emergency kit; Detailed duty sheet instructing each team member of their tasks during a medical emergency; Step-by-step instructions to aid in identifying and managing common medical emergencies, such as: Fainting, Asthma attacks, Allergic reactions, seizures, diabetic events, high and low blood pressure, strokes, and cardiac arrest. 4 training videos cover these topics: 1. It Won t Happen Here: Explains what constitutes a medical emergency, factors that increase the likelihood of a medical emergency, and the components of a medical emergency kit. 2. My Role in a Crisis: Details the assignment and duties of roles in a medical emergency. 3. Using Medical Equipment: Provides a brief overview on how to use common medical equipment during an emergency. 4. Crisis in a Clinic: Shows a dental team successfully managing a medical emergency.
ADA Dental Drug Handbook by
The ADA Dental Drug Handbook contains the latest information from dental pharmacology's leading experts. Intended for use by practicing dentists, students, dental educators, it covers the drugs most commonly used in the dental practice, with information about dosage, possible interactions, potential complications and more. Patients are being prescribed more medications today than ever before, and the dental team is confronted with many considerations when treating patients. This book contains five sections; the main section focuses on drugs used by the dentist, and other sections include pediatric management, dental office emergencies, handling patients with specific medical conditions, and useful tables. Each chapter starts with a brief overview of the category and contains easy-to-use monographs with sample prescriptions, contraindications, precautions, drug interactions, common side effects, and more. This easy-to-read, spiral bound reference covers drugs used in dentistry, such as analgesics, antibiotics, antifungals, antivirals, anxiolytics, fluorides, local anesthetics and corticosteroids; smoking cessation, salivary management and oral lesion treatments; OTC products with the ADA Seal of Acceptance; ADA Guidelines on procedures such as general anesthesia, antibiotic prophylaxis and medication-related osteonecrosis of the jaw; diabetic events; drug management for pediatrics, emergency situations, and special care patients such as pregnant patients and the elderly.
Dental Materials by
Focusing on the dental materials most commonly used, Dental Materials: Properties and Manipulation, 10th Edition covers the tasks that dental assistants and dental hygienists typically perform. It shows the most current materials, how to mix and apply them in a clinical setting, and how to educate patients about them. Now in full color, this edition adds more photographs of materials actually being mixed, used, and applied, and includes detailed coverage of ceramics, metals, and implant and impression materials. Written by well-known experts on restorative dentistry and materials, John Powers and John Wataha, Dental Materials is a trusted text that keeps you on top of the rapidly developing field of dental materials. Comprehensive, focused coverage includes all the materials and tasks relevant to day-to-day practice of dental assistants and dental hygienists. Cutting-edge content describes the latest materials commonly used in dental practice, including those in esthetics, ceramics, dental implants, and impressions. More than 400 illustrations and photographs make it easier to understand properties and recognize differences in materials in general and specific types of products. Discussions of materials begin with a study of their properties and uses before moving into specific manipulations and applications in dentistry. Note boxes highlight key points and important terminology throughout the text. Summary tables and boxes summarize key concepts and procedures. Quick Review boxes summarize the material in each chapter. A logical format sets up a solid foundation before progressing into discussions of specific materials, moving from the more common and simple applications such as composites to more specialized areas such as polymers and dental implants. Review questions provide an excellent study tool with 20 to 30 self-test questions in each chapter. Key terms are listed at the outset of each chapter, bolded at their initial mention in the text, and defined in the glossary. Learning objectives in each chapter focus your attention on essential information. Supplemental readings in each chapter cite texts and journal articles for further research and study. Conversion Factors on the inside back cover provides a list of common metric conversions. Expert authors are well recognized in the fields of dental materials, oral biomaterials, and restorative dentistry. New and updated discussions address advances in areas such as esthetics, ceramics, and materials for dental impressions and dental implants. Full-color illustrations improve clarity and realism, including for example, color photos of esthetics and bleaching showing the differences in shades of color. More than 100 new illustrations and photographs include images showing the materials being used and applied.
PrepStep is a FREE study material available to you. All you need to do is make an account and study!
Once you make an account, you can find a lot of practice tests to study from.
With over 800,000 resources, you're sure to find what you need. For research assistance or to access items you can't find, please make an appointment with Library staff for assistance.
To search a specific database or journal, click here.
P & G Global Dental Resources
Procter and Gamble has free resources available for students with interactive models, case studies, quizzes, courses, and more.
CDC- Oral Health Resources
http://www.cdc.gov/oralhealth/
Keep up to date with the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and oral healthcare.
CDC- NIOSH
The National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health has resources and publications available on a variety of workplace topics.
http://www.cdc.gov/niosh/topics/dentistry/
OSAP
Organization for Safety and Asepsis Procedures offers educational online resources to "assure the safe and infection-free delivery of oral healtcare to all".
OSHA
Review the OSHA regulations in the workplace and their resources available for enforcement, hazard prevention, and workers' rights.
http://www.osha.gov/SLTC/dentistry/index.html
Academy of General Dentistry
Here you can find live courses for opportunities for lifelong learning with tools for business use.
Academy of Periodontology
AAP is a organization for specializing in prevention, diagnosis and the treatment of gum disease. Here, there are some open access journals as well as other research resources available for both member and non-member status.
Academy of Oral Maxillofacial Pathology
Available for open access, are full text HTML articles and archival issues of Oral Surgery Oral Medicine Oral Pathology Oral Radiology. You are able to find essays and cases available on the website as well.
Academy of Pediatric Dentistry
Academy of Endodontics
American Association of Public Health Dentistry
On their website, the AAPHD has a page of public health resources along with access to journals, videos, research, and more topics.
American Association of Orthodontics
American College of Posthodontics
http://www.prosthodontics.org/